Being The Authentic You!

To become your authentic self, you must begin by taking the time to get to know yourself. You must seek and gain the knowledge of understanding human nature. Take an awareness break; What can you change and what can you not change, your personality habits, learned behaviors, values, sense of fairness in society, needs, goals, beliefs, strengths, weaknesses and motives. You must merge these to form your own model of how you interact with people.

Understanding what guides you throughout your life, realizing your signature strengths, and the true stature of your being are extremely helpful on your journey to the authentic you. Apply those signature strengths toward your authentic goals. Becoming an authentic person by positioning your self-image, public-image and stature to flow naturally in a state of awareness. Gain the confidence to be compassionate, loving, honorable, respectful, forgiving, humble and content.

To understand the gap between who you are now and your authentic self, write a list of words that describe who you want to be and who you believe you can be. Concentrate on words that describe who you are, not what you do. Now write down a separate list of words that describe who you are now. How many words are the same on both lists? How many are different? How closely do the lists compare? What changes do you have to make?

You must ask yourself how much do you value relationships? Do you desire and are you willing to be your authentic yourself and have authentic relationships? Are you open to change, growth, being vulnerable and transparent to others? Unless you can answer yes to all three questions, it’s futile to hope for authentic relationships with others or yourself. Because you’ll always be hiding something!

Here are a some things I’ve observed in authentic people:

1. Authentic people are not afraid to be who they are, show who they are and share with you openly. There is no acting, posturing or deception. They feel no need to build themselves up to look better to you nor tear themselves down to look worse. They are secure in their being. They know their strengths and use them in a loving, honorable, respectful, kind and compassionate manner. They know their weaknesses and when they fall into them, they catch themselves and make changes not beating themselves up about it. They are, “keeping it real” but never have to say it!

2. We know when we’re in the presence of an authentic person because we feel relaxed and safe. We feel their attention and respect, we feel important and interesting because they listen. Authentic people make us feel that way because that is how they see us, and through their insight we in turn see ourselves. We see the promise of our own lives, infinite possibilities and boundless living capabilities through their enlightened vision. We trust their vision and know it’s possible because they make us see it. It’s a wonderful gift they give us and in turn we can share with others. But we can only give it if we’re authentic. Authentic people know nothing is more important than the present moment.

3. Authentic people are interested in others thoughts and feelings. They have learned that having an authentic relationship holds the key to joy and happiness. It’s effortless to them and they just flow without judgment. It is natural because they have developed this ability through wisdom and understanding. They no we all are one and see a part of themselves in others, which is part of the divine spirit.

4. Authentic people are approachable. It doesn’t matter what position they hold in society or what activity they are presently engaged in, you will always be treated in a honorable, respectful and loving manner. We know when we’re in their presence through their energy getting into us. Authentic people live day-by-day, in the moment, giving situations all the importance each one deserves.

5. Authentic people know their place in the world and fill it with joy. They may hold a position of power and influence or one of many humble means. It is not the occupation or position that distinguishes them, it’s their knowledge of and ability to know and be themselves, and have meaningful relationships with others.

Authenticity does not happen overnight and not easily obtained. People are full of arrogance and selfishness, which cuts them off from their authentic selves. People are so wrapped up in their agendas, busy with their own lives and preoccupied with shallow things. We need to take more time to know ourselves, “Mellow Into The Moment” so you can start, “Enjoying A Better You!” Our concerns with ourselves and only ourselves can change with a little will and desire. If a deep authentic relationship is important to you, you must become authentic. Nothing is impossible and you can do it, just open up and take one step at a time towards positive growth, through knowledge and understanding of self. As time goes on you will become more authentic, you will enjoy deeper relationships, also better mental and physical health. It’s well worth it to explore ourselves and become authentic.

Published in: on February 10, 2010 at 7:22 am  Comments (18)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://miloedwards.wordpress.com/2010/02/10/being-the-authentic-you/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

18 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Waking up to such compassionate and thought provoking words makes me all the more want to share my love with everyone i meet. Let’s give of ourselves all we can, and do what needs to be done in order to spread the word of LOVE.
    Make today, and everyday absolutely amazing Milo…you, are loved.

  2. I agree these are very powerful words to wake up to. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. You have motivated me into action. I’m making my list!

  3. I’ll be writing my lists this morning…:P

  4. Love it Milo, I am constantly learning who the authentic me is. She changes from birthday to birthday, she only get better though. I do constantly compare that list, I want positive growth.

  5. Thank you Milo..staying authentic takes a lot of courage…but it’s something that I do and amazed at how many doors, adorationa and gratitude I receive for being me..Of course, I fear, but it’s better to be me and love!!! Blessings my friend!!!

  6. I wrote two list’s and there was not much difference,to me it was like the conscious and sub-conscious in me,being transparent with my life opens the doors to my friends,family co-workers,that it’s ok with what is going on in their life,so they drop their guard,I’ve been told that my personality is sometimes to strong.When I let people see the real me then they begin to tell about their selfs.I have made many people see the possibilities in themselves,there’s one thing I try to control when meeting people or the ones I already know is that through my authenticity, I can see the their personalities,but I don’t judge it’s just something I’ve always seen about people from how my Mom and Dad raised me and through my life of up’s and down’s,the good and the bad.,who I want to be and who I believe I can be ,it just better and better with time,not everyone likes your authenticity,because it brings honesty and maybe their not ready to be as authentic as me.I don’t wear this”S”on my chest without some pain and transformation in my life and don’t leave out weeding out friends.I know that being authentic you can eliminate a whole lot of men from coming on with drama,they back up.I find the closer I get into a relationship with God I become more and more AUTHENTIC,and I give all the Glory to God,it keep’s me in line and safe,Tonette=mellow in me.

  7. Hi Milo, I love this! I am growing day by day. I have always tried to be authentic. I allow people to be themselves and I am an open book. I don’t present myself as one who don’t need help. I except help and give it to those who ask. I try to make people feel comfortable in my presence. I never forget that we are all God’s creation and that he love us. So I try to allow his unconditional love flow through me. Thank you for the reminder and encouragement. xoxo

  8. This was right on time and I am taking time to get to know me. I can’t believe how your messages are always on time for me. Thanks.

  9. Milo…Until we find, embrace and begin to live as we were designed, created, and born into the world to be, we are but a fraction of our true selves. Life doesn’t truly begin until we find and become our “AUTHENTIC SELVES!!!” Until then, all that we are, see, and perceive is done so via our inorganic minds. All I have left to say is WHAT AN XTRAORDINARY WAY TO LIVE. THANKS FOR TAKING THE TIME TO FIND AND BECOME YOUR “AUTHENTIC SELF.” YOU ARE, WITHOUT QUESTION, AN XCEPTIONAL MAN. Lots of “SISTAH POWER” Love, Deborah

  10. Wow!! That just blew me away. I LOVE IT, I LOVE IT, I LOVE IT! Pretty powerful information. Well, I am truly experiencing my authentic self right now in my life. I have made it my priority to work on my spirit and acquiring these fine attributes. I just recently became aware of the power of my own energy as a result of continuously practicing being all of the above. I am thrilled with this evolution and elevation of spirit. I am on the same page as you. It feels wonderful. It feels supreme. It is very refreshing that others feel the same. As the woman mentioned in a comment before me, it is God! When you are with God and truly connected, you cannot help but be authentic. Your spirit will not allow anything less. We should all strive to achieve this and be the master’s of our spirits!

  11. This is a WONDERFUL, and MOTIVATING post. I totally agree with others regarding embracing GOD, and your spiritual side will bring you towards authenticity, along with being open, honest, and willing to change bad traits about yourself. I like the idea of making lists for your own personal growth, discovery, and awareness. The good thing about being authentic is LIKE attracts LIKE. You will attract like minded people into life, and inner circle by being genuine. Stay True to Yourself & Be Authentic. Love it!! CYD

  12. Absolutely brilliant insights Milo. You have given me food for thought and some tasks I must work on in achieving a better me.

    Thank you for sharing my friend.

  13. As always, your the best,lol.
    But really when are you going to go world wide. I want a book, signed of course. To your most devoted and understanding …. yeah I would say fan,but I believe every can be a could be that, I just respect your style, Mr. Milo thx 4 the food 4 thought

    • Thank you Samona, I’ll be sure and get you and signed copy. Thanks for your continued support and acknowledgment.

  14. Thank you for your time and kind words. Being authentic is a peaceful loving place, the world needs more authentic people and many problems would cease to exist.

    • Thank you for your time and kind words. Being authentic is a peaceful loving place, the world needs more authentic people and many problems would cease to exist.

  15. Thanks for sharing, Milo. You are correct in saying that “Authenticity does not happen overnight and not easily obtained”. Not only that, but authenticity is an ongoing process, sincd we are all a ‘work in progress’ and are constantly changing throughout the course of life. To grow is to change, and of a truth, we never really arrive till the day we draw our last breath. I understand now, therefore, why it is that some people view authenticity as a myth (especially if it is regarded as a done deal, complete in itself). Does hold some truth, doesnt it?

  16. Thanks for sharing, Milo. You are correct in saying that “Authenticity does not happen overnight and not easily obtained”. Not only that, but authenticity is an ongoing process, since we are all a ‘work in progress’ and are constantly changing throughout the course of life. To grow is to change, and of a truth, we never really arrive, even up till the day we draw our last breath. I understand now, therefore, why it is that some people view authenticity as a myth (especially if it is regarded as a done deal, complete in itself). Does hold some truth, doesnt it?


Leave a Reply

