Realizing Your Full Potential, You’ll Have to Let People Go!

Milo EdwardsDo you want to realize your full potential? Well you better be ready to piss some people off! People you know will be upset at you stretching out and becoming more than what they thought of you. Anytime you grow beyond someone’s opinion of you, they’ll get upset because you think more of yourself. In their eyes, who the hell do you think you are! So, “Mellow Into The Moment” and know during your growth you’ll have to leave a number of people behind. You must be willing to outgrow the company you keep and claim what the divine spirit has in store for you! It doesn’t mean you’re better than them or should look down your nose at them, you just decided to go beyond the norm! Grow beyond their opinions, don’t feel guilty and find the authentic you. Let them go and find comfort in being you, you’re complete and can step into greatness!

Published in: on August 4, 2009 at 2:03 pm  Comments (23)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://miloedwards.wordpress.com/2009/08/04/realizing-your-full-potential-youll-have-to-let-people-go/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

23 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Milo,
    Good word… the ability to stand alone and smile in face of adversity are keep factors… thank God being an only child reaped some rewards. Thanks for the reminder and motivation, sweetie! Love the website, you’re getting it done! Go go, bruh! 🙂

  2. Its not as easy as it sounds Milo although I’m working on it.

  3. Definately a word of truth……
    Those who choose to not visualize or even realize their full potential will ultimately get left behind. Nevertheless, if we choose to look back instead of pressing forward we miss out on the limitless opportunities that await us. “Pressing forward to the higher calling and the wonderful things that are in store for me.”

  4. Lawd knows that’s easier said than done, but ya gotta do whatcha gotta do to be true to the person who you are.”Be who you are and say what you feel,because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.” (Theodor Seuss Geisel) Thanks for the reminder, Milo!

  5. I agree with those sentiments Milo. The thing that hinders us from doing this is the unfamiliar or what we have been subjected to routinely. It’s time to look within. We are always waiting for our dreams to be “Manifested” or realized but in actuality our dreams are waiting on us! Blessings!

  6. Milo,
    My pastor says, sometimes if you’re in a storm, you got kick some people out of the boat, if you want to stay afloat. Some people aren’t meant to continue on the journey with you, kick em out or you will drown with them. Thanks for keeping us afloat, Milo.

    • Hi Maria, I agree with your pastor.

  7. Wow, You are reading my mail I was feeling just like that feeling guilty because my dreams are coming true. I can’t be concerned with others opinions just trying to please my God..I love you sooo much

  8. Thank you ! Milo, This is so True!! I had to learn this the hard way, but I’m a living witness that my days are sssooo much better, less stress, less drama..I love my new world of happiness ~~

  9. Thanks Milo and to let you know that I’m not afraid of change, it is good when used in the correct manner. Be Blessed in all you do and continued success.

  10. Wow, this is so true and very powerful Milo.. People are never happy to see someone grow beyond their expectations, and its so empowering to know that one does not need to really feel guilty about that growth, just have to get on and enjoy the ride up the ladder… Thanks Milo for sharing your wisdom…Luv Penny

  11. It appears my storm has been on going for some time now. There are several people I need to “Let Go.” Although I would say instead of the people, I need to let go!! Trust God allow him to lead and receive Christ completely. I believe (I) you realize your fullest potential when you are capable of accepting the past failures in your life, let them go, the past hurts, let go, the dead in job that you believe you have, stop complaining about it and be content where you are, the control in which you believe you have then realize you have none. That God controls all. Once, you’re in such a place of peace, joy and happiness within-potential. It’s not about material possessions, accomplishments in life, traveling all over the world or climbing the highest mountain. For me, realizing my full potential is being at peace and content with self.

  12. Ha, you are funny Milo. Yes, people will keep leaving posts on FaceBook like they are used to doing. All you can do is love them and hope they wake up to change. I admire your tenacity. A blog is a great idea, although a bit much to upkeep sometimes. Can’t wait to see your book on the shelves! Much success my friend.

  13. Milo, I’m constantly leaving people behind as I continue to grow and move in the direction to achieve my full potential. Once again another great food for thought.

  14. This 1 was a good1 Milo. I have personally cleaned house over&over when it come2friends&associates.Some I hated2 end our association because we had known each other many many years. But our views&directions begin2 not be even remotely close anymore.Now don’t get me wrong—I love diversity but I hate stupidity.There are people around u –family/… Read Morefriends/colleagues/co-workers etc. who can only be described as LOBSTERS. When lobsters are caught in a net– they all scramble2get free&climb 2d top–HOWEVER in the ultimate show of selfishness&personal survival they just keep pulling each other down. As they each try2get out, another &others will grab them2pull them down& pull their own self up. Ultimately resulting in them all dying. Moral2 this is how “MOST” people do not want u 2b happy. But when u realize who they are –you have 2b strong enough2move on &move forward either without them completely or in limited doses….CYD

  15. Karla I’m working on me and thanks to you that’s possable much love….

  16. Milo, Wow, If ever I felt there was something holding us back in life, ruining our plans and stopping us from being who we want to be, you would be right(Family and Friends). The fact is they could be the single source of our problems, stress, unhappiness, self-doubt and painful experiences. Get rid of the relationships and friendships that’s stopping us from having the opportunity to grow and be happy. Don’t put up with irrational behaviors and people with negative thinking,and those who kill a dream. If you have not accomplished all you want to be in this life, is it because of those types of people? Ask yourself “Where do you want to go from here? Milo is offering you the opportunity to grow not only as a person, but also to heal and let go of our toxic relationships. “Discover, you can do it for you”! Don’t continue to complain, blame, criticize, feel resentment or jealousy or negative emotions because you have to turn a friend or family member away. TAKE ACTION NOW! Transform your pain into total JOY..
    With warm regards,

  17. Milo…I truly agree with you on this one…and have Xperienced the dynamics of having to “grow” beyond people who persist in remaining where they are or who were having difficulty dealing with the newly evolved and still growing Deborah. That’s fine. I respect the rights of others to be who they are right where they are. It’s not everyone’s time and attempting to get them to “get it” and “get with it” is a total waste of time. So, every day I “mellow into the moment” as you suggest and appreciate where I am today as I continue to grow to even greater heights of understanding and Xcellence. I’m sooooo glad to be growing with you and “following in your footsteps” as we both ascend and accept were we are and where we’re growing! Life is short and I don’t have time to babysit or patrol other people. I provide direction and allow others to decide what they want to do with it, if anything…and take great pleasure in growing on! Lots of “SISTAH POWER” Love, Deborah

  18. Milo,

    Great insight! I think the only one you have to convince of this Shift is yourself. Once you’re able to remove the labels you have put on yourself i.e: “I’ve been a lawyer, doctor, sales professional my entire life, it’s who I am.” Change cannot begin until you can let go of your limited thinking.

    The meaningful relationships will always come back to you, even if they do not understand your new game plan at the time.

  19. I started doing that 2 years ago. My life is and will be all the more better for it. Thanks again for a blessed word.

  20. Milo, Well said!
    The greatest glory in living lies not in never falling but in rising every time. Most people should be more
    concerned with there character than your reputation….
    Because your character is what you rally are; while
    your reputation is merely what others think you are.
    And me I don’t care what other people think I do me at
    all times. Stay bless

  21. I made up my mind to clean house a month ago… See I come from a distant family…Who don’t talk or call eachother for whatever reasons I don’t know…But I was always the one person that would call just to say hey but did anyone call to see how my day is… Their excuse was that Oh I was gonna call or I was thinkin about chu… I came to realized I was tryn to hold on to people who didn’t want my love or my attention… So I said to myself its time to let go! I forgave them all but I’m done reaching out tryn to love them when all their ever done was push me away… I thank God I don’t hold grudges n have a forgiven heart… My only family is my sons… wow I hope I dont sound depressin cause trust me I’m not…

  22. Reblogged this on Mellow Into The Moment……With Milo and commented:

    LinkedIn


Leave a Reply

